Latest News‎ > ‎

End of Season Party 2012

posted 9 Dec 2012, 04:22 by Ashbourne RunningClub   [ updated 9 Dec 2012, 04:27 ]
Over 60 members of Ashbourne Running Club attended their annual end of Season Presentation dinner at the Miraj Hotel on Saturday 24th November.
The Club Championship was very well contested this year with runners in various categories entering races in and around the Ashbourne area over the course of 2012.
The most prestigious and coveted award was Runner of the Year, awarded to Chris Patterson who had run consistently well all year, gaining a second place in this Year’s Ashbourne Half Marathon and also clinching the Men’s Open Club Championship trophy and claiming the John Hemstock Trophy for first club runner finishing the Dovedale Dash.
The Sportsperson of the Year Shield was awarded jointly to Bill Mitchell and Emily Sanders, Emily also picking up the Ladies Open Club Championship trophy.
Other Club Championship category winners were Antony Brookes winning Men’s Novice and Mandy Allen winning Ladies Novice by a very close margin, securing her trophy in the last race of the season at the Dovedale Dash. In another keenly contested category, Men’s Veteran trophy was won by Peter Moss for the second year running with Ladies Veteran trophy won by Janice Clowes.
The Most Improved Runners of the Year awards were presented to Dave Thornsby-Smith and to Louise Maskery who had both shown great improvement in their performances over the year.
More stamina and footwork was demonstrated by the running club members with many staying on after the dinner and awards to dance into the small hours celebrating successful years running.